Structure of the Society

  • Print

The Society has as its objectives:

  • To foster the development of the science of Operations Research.
  • To foster the application of Operations Research wherever appropriate.
  • To foster the widest possible exchange of information and ideas on Operations Research and related subjects.
  • To define the standards of knowledge in and to further the study of Operations Research.

ASOR is divided into (State/Territory) Branches, which, in turn may be divided into Chapters. The Chapters of ASOR are:

  • Sydney
  • Perth
  • Adelaide
  • Brisbane
  • Canberra
  • Melbourne

Each Chapter organises regular meetings, and occasional workshops on topics of current interest. Each Chapter has four executive office bearers (Chairman, Vice Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary) and six other committee members.

Each Chapter elects one or more delegates to National Council, after which the Councillors elect from their own number an executive consisting of President, Vice President (Administration), Vice President (Membership and Publications), Vice President (Education) and Treasurer. National Council meets (or holds a telephone hook-up) twice a year and, among other things, determines the dates and venues for National Conferences, after which the detailed planning is carried out by the host Chapter. Conferences are held at least once every two years. The Chapters contribute monthly newsletters and National Council publishes a Bulletin and National Newsletter which is distributed to all members.